cricket ireland logo
cricket ireland logo


Railway Union and Ardmore advance to Clear Currency National Cup Final


It is Ardmore and Railway Union who are through to the Final of the Clear Currency National Cup Final as they both won their semi-finals over Terenure and Derriaghy respectively.

Ardmore and Railway Union are through to the Final of the Clear Currency National Cup Final as they both won their semi-finals over Terenure and Derriaghy respectively. Hamza Maan and Peet Pienaar were the hero’s for their sides.

Derriaghy vs Railway Union

Railway got through to the Final in very decisive manner. The Sandymount side put in an extremely efficient display in the field after losing the toss up in Belfast. The good work was started off with quick early wickets for Chad Laycock, the young South African currently on exchange with Railway accounted for both openers. Derriaghy struggled to gain any momentum in their batting innings, with Daniel Poulton’s 20 the only real score of note. Hamza Maan was again the main danger in the Railway attack, his leg spin which had yielded a fine five wicket haul in the quarter-final, was shown again to great effect with a spell of 4-12 from his six overs. He was able to bowl in tandem with Hashir Sultan, who also bowled very effectively as the Derriaghy batting crumbled under the pressure of some very good bowling. Derriaghy eventually falling for 83 in the 27th over.

The run chase for Railway should have been straight forward, and it proved to be so due to a very aggressive approach from the Railway top order. Glenn Querl and Kenny Carroll both hit early boundaries to settle any nerves that may have been lingering. Despite Curtis Moorhead’s best efforts in removing the two openers for 21 and 16 respectively. There was simply too much to do from a Derriaghy point of view. Especially when Irish stalwart Kevin O’Brien walked to the crease at number 4. He struck a dismissive 32 not out from 16 balls in partnership with Alex Stiles to bring Railway over the line, chasing the 84 runs in the 12th over.

Ardmore vs Terenure

It was a remarkable hundred from Peet Pienaar which inspired Ardmore to victory in the other semi-final with them running out comfortable winners against Terenure. Having been inserted by the travelling Terenure side, Pienaar played with remarkable fluency as he struck a terrific 106 from 95 balls. In doing so, he hit twelve 4’s and cleared the ropes five times. He built a terrific platform for Ardmore, with everyone else able to play around his knock, Decker Curry added a valuable 33, and Paul McDowell 25, while Jared Wilson blasted 26 off 18 balls late in the innings to added further impatis. The Terenure bowlers stuck at it, with Patrick Ryan taking 3-47 from 7 overs, but the finish score of 289-8 was always going to be a big ask to chase down.

Terenure started off their chase in fine style with Jack Webster hitting an impressive 26 off 16 balls to start off the innings. Kenny McDonald (32) and Mick Cotter (15) brought things along for Terenure but when both of them departed in quick succession, Terenure were left on 77-4. Young Terenure talent Seamus Lynch came together with captain, Donal Vaughan and they both gave Terenure a glimpse of hope in the run chase. Lynch scored a run a ball 52, while Vaughan added 55 from 43 balls. However, it was clumps of wickets that was to be the undoing of Terenure. In fact, after the dismissal of these two, the innings crumbled from 186-5 to 192 all out, leaving them 97 runs short. The bowling efforts from Ardmore were split, with three wickets apiece for Decker Curry, Jared Wilson and Lee Brolly.

The final between the Railway Union and Ardmore is due to be played on the Sunday 1st September.

Andrew Blair White
Ardmore will play Railway Union in the final