cricket ireland logo
cricket ireland logo


2024 Irish Senior Cup

Round 1 Review

Instonians v Eglinton

Round 1 generated a range of stand-out performances, including:

  • Wow! Phoenix's Jack Lalor smashed 201* in his team's 258-run win over Bready
  • Pembroke's Nick Stapleton (144 off 122 balls) and Tim Tector (124 off 100 balls) led the way as their side beat Coleraine by 284 runs
  • Merrion openers Stephen Doheny (106*) and Swapnil Modgill (76*) put on an unbeaten 191-run opening stand in 166 balls to chase down Donemana's score
  • Scott Macbeth struck 12 sixes in 123 off 87 balls for Brigade in its win over Woodvale
  • Clontarf openers David Vincent (73*) and Eoin Delany (76*) put on an unbeaten 176-run opening stand in 119 balls to chase down Killyclooney's score
  • Faiz Fazal hit 81 and took 3-30 but his Lisburn side lost to Malahide
  • Former international Stuart Thompson hit 87* off 71 balls in CSNI's win over Newbuildings
  • An 87 off 78 balls by Ciaran Roundtree wasn't quite enough as Ardmore lost to North Down by 14 runs

The winners were as follows (see full scorecards here):

  • Railway Union defeated Cliftonville Academy
  • Malahide defeated Lisburn
  • The Hills defeated Carrickfergus 
  • North Down defeated Ardmore
  • Brigade defeated Woodvale
  • CSNI defeated Newbuildings
  • Instonians defeated Eglinton
  • Phoenix defeated Bready 
  • Clontarf defeated Killyclooney 
  • Pembroke defeated Coleraine
  • Merrion defeated Donemana
  • Cork County v Balbriggan (postponed)

The Round 1 winners will be joined in Round 2 by CIYMS, Leinster, Waringstown and Muckamore.


The dates of the Cup Rounds are:

  • Round 2: 9 June 2024
  • Quarter Finals: 30 June 2024
  • Semi Finals: 14 July 2024
  • Final: 17 August 2024

You can follow regular updates, insights and other news in Irish cricket via:

Also, you can subscribe to our eNewsletter here.

Follow us...